Posted in Transfers

Brief Transfer Roundup in the JPL

Not that I have nothing to write about. I rarely talk about transfers unless they’re done. I’ve only ever written one transfer blog and that was because, at that time, even though the season was in full flow, I was short on ideas! But now the season is more or less over, everyday at some point I was seeing transfer deals completed all over the place. The one that threw me off was Samy Kehli to Lokeren from Roeselare, when they were due to meet each other 2 days later!

And speaking of Lokeren, they have been one of the busier sides. Finishing the season in the play offs rather well, maybe Rùnar Kristinsson has the belief that they can do better in the league, in the play offs or in the cup. Already signing the aforementioned Kehli, he has also brought in Luciano Slagveer and Robin Söder. Looks like depth in all positions are needed at the Daknamstadion!

Courtesy of Getty Images

But reason I originally thought about this blog was because of the departure of Michel Preud’homme. I thought his race had run when Anderlecht won 2-0 against Brugge about 6 weeks ago (give or take) and I was proved right. Managers know when they’ve gone as far as they can go and where others are staying, deservedly so at STVV and unsurely at Mouscron, Club Brugge are without a manager.

With Frank de Boer linked, amongst others I take it, Preud’homme has been making signings already before he left. What if these aren’t in the plans of the next manager? What if the players themselves joined because of Michel Preud’homme? Three players have been signed so far and with the Belgian league tending to start just that bit earlier, the clock is ticking for the Blauw-Zwart with a Champions League qualifier to decide as well before September 1st.

Anderlecht have been very impressive in the market under René Weiler. He secured deals before the end of the season, either re-signing Isaac Kiese Thelin for another season on loan, but permanently signing Teodorczyk and Spajic before they’d even won the title! The only problem was holding onto Youri Tielemans. It was inevitable that he’d leave but I had Arsenal and Roma as the main options, by Monaco splashed the cash and the French champions are well suited for the outstanding youngster.

Another youngster potentially on his way, and massively linked with Arsenal, again, is Henry Onyekuru. When I saw him at the Diagne interview, he was the first to introduce himself to me! Not the other way round. And as I am a Gooner (incase you didn’t know) I’m gutted I never got a picture with him. Speculation of a £6.8 million fee is nothing to a Premier League club and I think we’ll with the punt. Another out of Eupen is Mamadou Sylla, who went to Gent via Espanol, his parent club.

Courtesy of Getty Images

Other deals announced this week were Nicolas Rajsel, who I knew would stay in the Pro League after being outstanding for USG in the play offs, and Henrik Dalsgaard to Championship side Brentford. I thought the impressive Danish full back was off to Genk, with Sandy Walsh going to Zulte Waregem, but with the Dane choosing to go to England, he may feel a second tier side scrapping for a play off place in England compared to either Europa League with Zulte, it possible European football with Genk was a better option? 

Anyway, with other transfers happening everyday, I’ll settle for these on this roundup. I’ll probably keep tabs and either tweet what I see or you’ll read it here on a regular basis, that’s if anyone does read this, and I’ll give my opinion in the aftermath. Enjoy! 

Author:

I am a father, a future husband and a lover of football. Which order I do love all 3 is up to you to decide

Leave a Reply

