Posted in Matches in Brief

It’s Back! The JPL is Finally Back!

Am I getting carried away? Slightly. But competitive league football in Belgique is back and I’m looking forward to it. Not saying those in Belgium aren’t of course, but I love football, England loves football and like most, those who love their club don’t mind the season ended, and then a day later the realisation of no football for 2 months kicks in.

This blog post may turn out to simply be a prediction post and I’ll end up saying how many results (rather than score lines) I managed to get right out of 10. Not all Belgian football is that predictable so I’ll definitely get a few, if not all incorrect!

But kicking off tonight sees the return of the oldest club in Belgium vs the most successful club, and current Pro League champions. I’ve written a PP about Sinat Bolat because it could be a tough one for him tonight with potentially the most devastating strike force in Belgium.

Tomorrow sees four matches that may look quite straightforward. In my honest opinion, I do see Zulte Waregem, Genk and Charleroi taking maximum points in their matches, maybe with Eupen vs Zulte being the most competitive. But Lokeren vs Club Brugge at the Daknamstadion could be a corker. Most likely a dull 0-0 will happen, but I don’t think Blauw-Zwart will win in all honesty. Could be the coupon buster!?!

On Sunday, this includes the Europa League sides, with Gent travelling to Sint Truiden and Oostende hosting Mouscron. Sorry, but I believe De Kustboys could just rip Mouscron apart if I’m honest. There’s a lot they can take away from the Marseille defeat. Gent travel to the Staaien disappointed from the draw against Altach, and I feel this could be tougher for De Buffalos.

Lastly, before all those matches on Sunday, possibly the game of the weekend involves Mechelen vs Standard Liege. I reckon Les Rouches could turn up and convincingly win on Sunday on Ricardo Sa Pinto’s first competitive match in charge, but Mats Rits does enjoy playing against Standard.

These are mainly predictions, along with my thoughts of certain…things? My mind’s gone totally blank. It’s the sun! Nevertheless, could be a cracking weekend of football in Belgium and it all starts tonight! 

Author:

I am a father, a future husband and a lover of football. Which order I do love all 3 is up to you to decide

Leave a Reply

